Hi from AT&T Research

Now that I’m settled here in (cold!) Madison, NJ and actually doing some work, I hope to be able to write about some of the things I have been thinking about recently. Work is exciting: a lot of very interesting data and a lot of incredibly smart people. I have a feeling that the collective IQ dropped by a few points the moment I walked in the building.

VisWeek starts next week! Last year I got the surprise of realizing people were actually reading what I was writing. I even got a “hey, you’re the blog guy” (Hi, Raghu :)). So, expect liveblogging. Plenty of exciting changes for this year’s conference, but I particularly like the parallel Vis+InfoVis sessions. There will certainly be growing pains, but I stand by my belief that, in the long run, this is the right move for the community as a whole. Also, VisWeek is now on twitter, the updates of which will most likely be posted by yours truly – buyer beware 🙂

In the next few posts, I want to talk about verification in scientific visualization (and in particular about Tiago‘s upcoming paper on Vis which I was a part of), and fun and games with inner product spaces.

2 responses to “Hi from AT&T Research

  1. Hi there Carlos at AT&T! I’m looking forward to running into you at Vis. 🙂

    I’ll probably also attempt doing a blog post or 2.

  2. Hello there,

    Congratulations on the AT&T news!

    I’m looking forward to read your posts about verification in SciViz

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

