VisWeek: general impressions and things to see

I have not written much about what has been going on in the last couple of days, mostly because it seems like the continuous updates like I was doing last year will be impossible from the conference floor. However, I also feel like they feel better as twitter updates, and Marian Doerk has been posting a lot of these. Look for the latest about VisWeek on twitter under the #visweek hashtag, and somewhat longer updates about the conference here.
In general, I have been pretty pleased about the many different references to machine learning that I have heard and seen in the conference. I’m looking forward to “Visual Human+Machine Learning” at Vis, and I was impressed to see an entire one-day workshop/forum dedicated to bringing machine learning people and techniques to visualization. Props to FODAVA organizers!
One of the papers I’m looking forward to seeing is “Continuous Parallel Coordinates”. It is the followup paper to “Continuous Scatterplots”. After sitting at about 10 papers for VAST, I am convinced that continuous density-based plots are vastly useful, and much better than the discrete counterparts. I hope these techniques become popular.

I have not written much about what has been going on in the last couple of days, mostly because it seems like the continuous updates like I was doing last year will be impossible from the conference floor. However, I also feel like they might work better as twitter updates: Marian, TJ and Robert have been posting a lot of these. Look for the latest about VisWeek on twitter under the #visweek hashtag, and somewhat longer updates about the conference here.

In general, I have been pretty pleased about the many different references to machine learning that I have heard and seen in the conference. I’m looking forward to Visual Human+Machine Learning at Vis, and I was impressed to see an entire one-day workshop/forum dedicated to bringing machine learning people and techniques to visualization. Props to FODAVA organizers!

One of the papers I’m looking forward to seeing is Continuous Parallel Coordinates. (It is the followup to Continuous Scatterplots). After seeing 4 or 5 VAST papers that could clearly use some variant of these, I am convinced that continuous density-based plots (histograms, scatterplots, and now parallel coordinates) are vastly useful, and much better than the discrete counterparts. I hope these techniques become popular.

Leave a Reply

